The Coup Review

Good morning!  I hope everyone is doing well today 🙂

Today I wanted to post about the restaurant John and I went to for date night on Friday.  After phoning around to try and make reservations and continually get the “we only have 8:30 available….”  😦 ya that works when your on holiday, but not when you’ve worked a full day!  With that we decided to hit up the Coup as they don’t take reservations and have a great little bar attached to it.

The Coup on Urbanspoon

The Coup is a vegetarian restaurant and the bar it is attached to is called Meet!  Hahaha I love the name.  We have been to this place a few times now over the last 5 years or so and are yet to have a bad meal there.

The cocktails caught our eye right off the bat and I had to try the Strawberry fields.  This drink was made out of muddled strawberries, white balsamic reduction, rhubarb bitters, gin, cracked pepper, and Prosecco.  It was such an interesting and delicious combination and not too sweet.  John had the Dirk Diggler which was a scotch with chambord, vermouth, and saskatoon berries socked in Burbon.  His drink was also lovely, but I liked mine more 😉

To start we shared the Beatnuts….. oh it was so good but disappeared far to quickly!

photo 1

In this was raw beat, garlic, nuts, and seeds that was placed on top of some lovely goat cheese.  On the side were thick slices of cucumber to use as crackers.  I thought I was going to miss some bread or chips to put it on, but nope!  It was absolutely great as it was.  Creeping in on the side is my strawberry field drink!

For dinner I had the dragon bowl, which was a form of a stir fry with tofu.  It was absolutely packed with veggies that tasted really fresh.  The fun thing about this dish is that you get to customize it by picking either quinoa or brown rice and then choosing from many sauces.  I went with the brown rice and green curry sauce and loved my choice!  Sorry about the terrible photo but the lighting was low and I was to hungry to start messing around with lighting 😀photo 1

John decided we should have desert… well duh!  I thought he should pick it, since I was pretty full, and went with the salted caramel chocolate mouse with home made caramel corn.  I completely forgot to take a picture of this mostly because I was to busy fighting John for spoonfuls of the delightful concoction.  The portion of mouse was fairly small, which they told us in advance, but I don’t think the size needed to be any bigger.  It was so silk smooth with the right amount of sweet/salty.

Needless to say we will be a back again!

Questions:

1) Do you like vegetarian food or do you prefer to have meat with you meal?

About Christine@munchkinmumbles

Enjoyment in food fitness family and friends

Leave a comment

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Eating 4 Balance

Learning to Eat with Food Allergies in a Processed World

Fitness is Sweet

A college student explores the world through health and fitness

Food, Farts, and Frustration

We eat, we toot, we complain about stuff. Other things happen too.

Happy Wife Healthy Life

Just another WordPress.com site

AMP Body Fitness

Plant Based | SELF CARE | HOLISTIC |FITNESS | SUSTAINABLE LIVING

Home

Finding a Balanced and Healthy Lifestyle

Wandering and Wondering.

Swiss voice, blonde mane, sass&sarcasm.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Golden State

grapefriend

grapefriend. wine. fun.

Chocolate Covered Race Medals

Where I race to the chocolate bar

I Heart Vegetables

Easy recipes and simple tips for living a healthier, happier life!

Nutty for Life

A Twenty-Something's Thoughts About Healthy Living and Peanut Butter