RSS Feed

Weekend Shinanigans and my First Slow Cooker Meal

Well hello all!  I didn’t get a chance to write a post yesterday as it was a go-go-go kind of day, but we accomplished quite a bit.  I hope everyone has had a great weekend (and a fabulous Thanksgiving weekend for all my American readers).  I have been seeing some of your photos and my mouth has been watering!

So lets recap Saturday

Saturday started off with a lazy breakfast with the husband…photo (1)

mmmm hot oatmeal with apple, cinnamon, raisins, and coconut with a side of hot coffee X 2.  John had an amazing looking omelette.

After Breakfast we went our separate ways, John to finish off cleaning out the apartment and me to go find some house wares for our bathroom and kitchen.  I came back with two bathmats, two garbage cans, and a dish drainer.  I also had to drop of a ton of old electronics.  I swear junk seems to multiply when you’re not looking!  I was able to stop by a market to pick up a ton of produce to see us through the week.

John and I reconvened and ate a quick lunch before my parents came over to help us adjust a kitchen light, get my desk out of my truck, and fiddle with the water heater.  There was no time to rest after they left as we had to go directly to Canadian Tire to pick up a tool kit that was on sale (reg $400 for $100) and a bunch of other little things.  John is so proud of his first tool kit, I think it’s a guy thing!  We then stopped by Superstore to load up with lots of fooooood.  The roads and stores were absolutely crammed I guess it was all of the Black Friday Deals that were going on.  John and I just shook our heads at all the people scrambling for deals.  We did get some deals but we weren’t out looking for them, we just really needed some things!

Dinner was homemade pizza thanks to John followed by the movie Dark Shadows.  Has anyone seen or heard of this movie?  I had not known a thing about it but LOVED it!

Sunday

Sunday started out much like Saturday but with a savoury flavour…

An omelette stuffed with sautéed mushroom, onion, red pepper, spinach, and cheese.  On the side was half a bagel with peanut butter, grapes, and an apple.  And yes… COFFEE!  After breakfast I headed out to pick up a few last things for dinner, slow cooker pulled pork!  That came together in a flash and we headed out for a runphoto (2)We really did 13km but, as seen from the garmin, I forgot to start it after I stopped it at one point :S oops!  And we also saw this…photo (3)The community skating rink is up and running and you better believe John and I are going to hit this up!

Once we got home we quickly showered and ate a fast lunch before heading out to do some furniture shopping!!!!  We ended up buying a couch and a coffee table from Crate and Barrel.  The only unfortunate thing is that they won’t be here until after Christmas 😦haven-sofa hunter-ii-trunk  Well I should sign off now as I have my dinner to finish up!  You’ll be seeing this dinner on this weeks WIAW and I will share the recipe with you if it turns out!

Questions:

1) Did you do like to skate?

2) Did you go shopping for deals on Black Friday?  I hear some stores got absolutely out of hand!

3) Have you ever used a slow cooker?  (if not I really suggest you should!)

About Christine@munchkinmumbles

Enjoyment in food fitness family and friends

4 responses »

  1. Your breakfast on Saturday sounds soooooo good!! My Thanksgiving food makes you drool, your oatmeal makes me drool- now we’re even 😉 I keep forgetting your distance is in km! I thought you ran 10 miles in an hour and I was going to suggest you go out for the Olympics!

    Reply
  2. Love the coffee table!

    Don’t know if it’s a guy thing…I’m very fond of my tool kit too. Fixing things yourself is fun! (plus it saves money) 🙂

    Reply
  3. HAHAHAHAHA that made my day! Nope, not nearly that fast at all! I like to stick with P.R. rather than world records 😉

    Okay then Even Stevens!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Ranchcookie

Life's too short to be anything but healthy

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Running For Cupcakes

Runner, Beach Bum, and Professional Cupcake Eater

Eating 4 Balance

Learning to Eat with Food Allergies in a Processed World

Fitness is Sweet

A college student explores the world through health and fitness

Fit, Fresh, and Funny

Life Requires a Sense of Humor!

Happy Wife Healthy Life

Just another WordPress.com site

The Talking Pencil

Chronicles of a SoCal Crunchy Mama.

AMP Body Fitness

I lost 85lbs, so can you!

Home

Finding a Balanced and Healthy Lifestyle

Fit Swiss Chick

Dream big. Work hard. Stay focused. Surround yourself with good people.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Breslanta

Covering Atlanta far better than MARTA

