RSS Feed

My Weekend in Mostly Words

Well good Sunday evening to everyone!  I hope everyone has had/having a good weekend!  I know I’ve been quite enjoying it and really like knowing that I have tomorrow off too!

So what’s been up this weekend…

SATURDAY

Started the morning off with a warm breakfast seen in yesterdays post followed by the gym for a 10km treadmill run and some foam rolling

foam rollFeels so bad yet so so good!

After that I headed home and heated up the last of our split pea soup that I had frozen outside, yup it’s been that cold.  It made a good lunch for two!  The afternoon turned really warm and we decided to take a walk down to Kensington, a really cute neighbourhood, to grab a coffee and poke around some stores.  We got back home with a few hours to lounge around and read until it was time to get ready to head out to a DRI fundraiser dinner John and I were attending with my parents.

DRI

The DRI stands for the Dinosaur Research Institute.  Most of the money raised is given to master and Phd students as grants to fund their research.  You can find out more about them here!  I hadn’t been to this event for a few years so it was really fun to go back and as a bonous dinner is ALWAYS amazing!  On the menu last night was a Butternut Squash soup with a crusty roll, a Tenderloin steak about an 11/2″ thick served on mashed potatoes with a red wine glaze and some asparagus and baby carrots, and finally creme brule and Saskatoon reduction for dessert.  OMG I tried my hardest to eat every last bite but sadly I just couldn’t get through dessert 😦 1/4 ended up going to John.  Alongside this lovely meal were a few glasses of red wine.  Let’s just say I was one happy girl 🙂  I failed at pictures, it just wasn’t the time or place for taking pictures of ones food.  During and after dinner there were some talks by some students and Dr. Phil Currie…. Basically a hero among the Dino world!  I mean the man has his own Wikipedia site!  Okay enough Dino talk 😉

SUNDAY

Well we woke up to a freezing cold morning and snow (I kinda love these mornings).  Breakfast was eggs, toast, and yogurt which I would post a picture of but I am going to use todays eats for my WIAW.  Anywho… after breakfast I was feeling a little house bound and antsy.  I decided to head to the gym to sit on a bike and read.  I was going to use this as an off day but decided a light workout would be fine since I really did already have an off day this week.  In the end I did a 40min bike ride while reading WILD.  Again sorry for picture quality, evidently I had the shakes?  And no I wasn’t taking a pic of the bum in front of me :

bikeHas anyone else read WILD by Cheryl Strayed?  I highly recommend it!  It is based on a true story and has really kept me enthralled!  After a quick gym shower and change I headed to the market to pick up a ridiculous amount of fruit and veg for the week.  While there I think I sampled about 4 types of apples, 2 oranges, and some pears plus picked up a massive bag of over ripe bananas for $3 SCORE!  Stay tuned for smoothy/baking recipes!

A quick lunch and I was off again to see my mum at the art gallery that she works/shows/sells her own works of art.  They were having a show for another artist and the place was PACKED.  It felt so good to be there and support her as she did for my brother and I were younger and she came to every hockey game and riding lesson.

A short cold walk and more reading ensued which basically brings up to this minute.  And I can’t wait for the dinner John is whipping up (you’ll have to wait for Wednesday’s post!) and curling up on a cold night to watch our traditional Sunday night Walking Dead.

Have a great evening!

XXOO

QUESTIONS:

1) Are you currently reading a good book?  If so which one?

2) Do you like to foam roll?

3) What was the best thing you did this weekend?

About Christine@munchkinmumbles

Enjoyment in food fitness family and friends

Leave a Reply

Ranchcookie

Life's too short to be anything but healthy

Peanut Butter Fingers

Living a Life Fueled by Healthy Food and Fitness

Running For Cupcakes

Runner, Beach Bum, and Professional Cupcake Eater

Eating 4 Balance

Learning to Eat with Food Allergies in a Processed World

Fitness is Sweet

A college student explores the world through health and fitness

Fit, Fresh, and Funny

Life Requires a Sense of Humor!

Happy Wife Healthy Life

Just another WordPress.com site

The Talking Pencil

Chronicles of a SoCal Crunchy Mama.

AMP Body Fitness

I lost 85lbs, so can you!

Home

Finding a Balanced and Healthy Lifestyle

Fit Swiss Chick

Dream big. Work hard. Stay focused. Surround yourself with good people.

FueledByLOLZ

Running and Laughing through the Garden State

Breslanta

Covering Atlanta far better than MARTA

